10 July 2007

Master Cleanse Day #3

Well... today was a bit better... but not much. Really, this is all a psychological battle... I think I might have said that yesterday (no, I'm not going crazy, I promise). Anyway, the cleanse was better today... I still want food... but I want carbs today (I could care less about a cheeseburger today)... and, of course, the pizza at lunch was a HUGE temptation. But I made it through just fine (with only a minor breakdown... that I don't think anyone else could see). I know the Lord was trying me at one point... I got into the kitchen (where we eat our lunch) where we have two big tables... there were two people at the first one, so I went to sit at the second table the furthest away from where I knew the pizza would end up. I'm standing near the second table... the pizza guy comes in... and puts all the pizza (and salad) right in front of me. I was like, are you kidding me... I knew my willpower was being tried! So... I picked up the pizza boxes... and moved them to the counter where we serve from... so that I would be again as far away from the pizza as possible. I came close to breaking tonight when I got home... really, if I look at it, I wasn't hungry... it was habit. I have some bread on the counter, cut a piece, put it on a plate, and then was like "what are you thinking?!?" (see, I told you, carbs... I want carbs). Other than that, the day has been alright. Didn't do the saltwater flush this morning like I'm supposed to... just couldn't do it. I'm hoping tomorrow will be better and I'll start feeling a bit better and doing everything I'm supposed to do. I'm still a bit tired today... they say usually around day 5 or so your energy picks up... I hope so, because I'm exhausted. Alright... I'm gonna go finish my "lemonade," drink my nasty tea, and go lay in bed and watch the all-star game until I fall asleep... which shouldn't be long...
V

09 July 2007

Master Cleanse Day #2

Holy crap... this is the hardest thing I've ever done in my life. Well, psychologically anyways. If I listen to my body, I'm really not hungry at all... my stomach isn't growling (and if it is, I have some more lemonade)... but my brain keeps telling me I should be eating. Of course, the only things that sound good are things like ice cream and cheeseburgers. They say that you crave things things only for the first few days... it's the things that are bad for you that you are getting rid of from your body... so I must have had a lot of ice cream and cheeseburgers throughout my years! I was really wanting to give up this whole thing tonight... I felt like I just needed to eat... when I got a call from my friend Missy. She's done the cleanse before and was just some words of encouragement. I know I'll feel better, both physically and emotionally, after I complete the cleanse, but it's nice to hear that encouragement that I can make it through the full 10 days. Supposedly day 2 is the hardest. I know tomorrow will be rough too... we're having a pizza party during our meeting at lunch... so it'll be pretty rough for me to make it through that. Because, unfortunately, unlike today's meeting, I can't leave in the middle of it. Please keep praying for me to have the motivation and will-power to complete this. Sometimes I think I can do it, and other times it just seems like too much to handle.
V

07 July 2007

Master Cleanse

So, for the next 10 days (officially starting tonight), I'm doing the Master Cleanse. For those that haven't heard of it, it's basically a system detox where you don't eat for 10 days... you just drink this "lemonade" which is distilled water, real lemon juice, organic pure maple syrup, and cayenne pepper. Sounds yummy, eh??? I actually made some today so I could try it and make sure it's tolerable enough to drink for 10 days straight. It's not bad... I put too much cayenne in it, but other than that it's good. I'm really trying to be more healthy, change the way I eat, and, well, lose some weight if I can (that fits into the "be more healthy" category). I'm hoping this whole thing will help me be more motivated to be a bit more healthy and care more about my body. I tend to treat it like crap sometimes, as I think we all do.
I'm a little nervous, but excited, about doing the cleanse... I've never not eaten for 10 days before. With how much our daily lives are centered around food (ie. going out to eat with friends, dinner at the parents, etc), I know it's going to be tough. It'll be a good challenge for me to complete it. I have some good supports form work and a good friend that will be doing it with me at the same time (though she's now in Cali), so hopefully that'll help keep me encouraged while I'm doing this. I ask for all your support and prayers and encouragement while I challenge myself... wish me luck! I'll update how the cleanse is going over the next few days...
V

06 July 2007

First Post

Yeah... (that's always a GREAT way to start a blog)... so (as is that)... thought I needed to start a new blog... the myspace thing was getting old and I hadn't blogged on that in FOREVER... so... here I go!
Who knows what I'll talk about... hopefully something interesting for y'all who decide to read it!
V