30 December 2007

Yes... I realize I stink and haven't blogged in forever... life has been a little hectic lately... and too much to go in to. So... here's the brief update to tide all of you over...

Currently, I'm down 11 pounds... I'll re-weigh myself tomorrow. The scale at the gym says I'm down 15, but I don't believe it. Haha! Also... speaking of the gym and working out... I FINALLY was able to run my first mile straight without stopping last
friday... but have as of this time been unable to duplicate it. Which, yes, makes me quite a bit nervous since I have to run 5 miles at the end of March for the Shamrock... YIKES!!! Patrick gave me a "pep talk" about it last night... it was a bit intense... I'm really realizing that running is 99% mental and only about 1% physical... and the mental part sucks!!!

Our work Christmas party was a few weeks ago... it was a blast... we boogied down on the dance floor. Here's some pics...


Me and Tina starting the night off looking cute.


Me, Patrick, and Tina. You know... if any other guy was standing in between two hot chics, they'd be smiling... hmmm...


Tina, Nicole, and myself.


Tina and I again... with Michael giving us bunny ears. Didn't we do that when we were in, like, elementary school?


Peggy, me, Jen, Tina, and Nicole. Jen FINALLY showed up after dinner... about 2.5 hours after the party had started!

Let's see... what else... Christmas was nice. Matthew came back home for a few days for Christmas from Florida... we scared the crap out of mom because she didn't know he was coming back... it was a total surprise. It was pretty cool. I wish he could have stayed longer, but I need to be thankful for the time I have with him.

Again, like I said, this was a brief overview. I'll try and be better about posting in the coming year. I'm having a New Year's party at my place tomorrow night... so maybe that will be a good way to start, eh? I'LL TRY!!!

V

17 November 2007

Worst pick-up lines, ww update, and other randomness...

Yes, I realize I haven't posted in over a week... it's been super busy around here and I've had something to do every night after work and just haven't had time. So here it is 730 on a Saturday morning and I'm updating... sad, eh?

Last Saturday night Nancy (one of my roommates and friends from undergrad) had a house-warming party as her and her husband just moved in to a new house, which happens to be near me! (I know... I need to make more of an effort to get my butt over there!) There were quite a few people there from undergrad... that I haven't seen since we graduated (or maybe the summer afterwards)... so for over 6 years. It was weird... but great to see them all and talk about all our memories. And I'd like to thank them all for reminding me of the worst pickup lines ever that I had suppressed in my memory. Ready for it?

"Your cheeks are so cold, but your lips are so warm."

Yes... that is the worst pickup line (or just statement) ever... I don't even want to comment any more on that situation... because it kind of churns my stomach... haha

Monday night... another weigh-in for our weight-loss group. I lost another... 2.4 pounds!!! That brings my weight-loss total for 2 weeks to 6 pounds (for those of you that are counting). Because of my busy week I haven't made it to the gym as much as I would have liked and haven't been counting points... so hopefully the weight is still coming off this week! After my group I went out to dinner with the girls for a little girls night to celebrate Patty's new job. Red Lobster... yummy! And yes, I actually had some lobster... it was SOOO good... and it's been a while since I've had lobster. The rest of the meal was pretty healthy... shrimp, rice, and veggies... not too bad.

Tuesday night... eye doctor appointment... everything's fine. It was the longest eye doctor appointment EVER. There was a point that I got a little freaked out... my right eye failed the glaucoma test so they had to re-do it... it's fine... it just wasn't lubricated enough the first time. After the eye doctor I went to The Little Owl where my sister Lindsey works and just chilled and had dinner.... it was nice having some company for dinner.

Wednesday night... did something but can't remember... hmm... will have to think about that one...

Thursday night... went out with some people from work (Tina, Paul, and Patrick) and some of Paul's friends. I'm just going to say it was a wild and crazy night... if I say more I might incriminate myself and I don't need to do that... so I might just leave it at that. I didn't really sleep hardly at all... and work on Friday was EXTREMELY difficult... and no, not hungover... just VERY tired... but I made it and didn't call in sick like someone else did... haha!

So those are the basic updates for now... I know this post didn't really "flow", but I had a bit to catch up on and didn't want to get another post from Katie saying she was going to protest my blog if I didn't post!

And now... I'm off to the gym... woohoo! (I'm still sore from the lunges and squats from Thursday... grrr...)

V

08 November 2007

I broke 100!!!

Yes, it doesn't happen very often, but I broke 100 at bowling... 107 to be exact. Six of us from work went bowling after work to let off some steam... we're going to try and make it a monthly thing. Of course, even with my 107 that I'm oh so proud of, I still came in last place... go figure!

And... yes, I did get up this morning to work out... (for those that are counting, that's 6 days in a row... with twice a day on Monday (for arms) and Tuesday (for legs)... and today if you count bowling)... I freakin' rock... haha! I was asked by Bethie what is my secret to getting up at the butt-crack of dawn... I did it at the time change so I was used to getting up at 6... which is now 5... so far, it's working... although, I'm in bed by 9!!!

V

07 November 2007

the gym

I had an AWESOME workout tonight... didn't go this morning because I didn't sleep well last night (first, cramps (ugh, being a girl), then, terrible scary dream), so I was WAY too tired to go this morning. But great workout after work (which doesn't normally happen). Went 6K (ran a mile of it)... and felt GREAT! I hate sweating... but tonight was one of the few times it felt good!
A bunch of us from work are going bowling after work tomorrow, so I have to be sure to get up at 5 tomorrow morning to go to the gym... wish me luck!
V

05 November 2007

Weight Watchers

So... I'm updating today because Katie threatened to protest my blog... can't have that happening!!! Even though I don't think there's much to update on... here's the news...
A few weeks (or months) ago at work we decided we'd have a "weight watchers at work" thing... only problem... the lady that came out was a total "b"... and we didn't have the 15 people that were required for her to keep coming out (we had 13)... which may have been a blessing in disguise. So one of the ladies has done Weight Watchers before and said, "Why don't we just do our own? I have all the things and I'd be glad to share all my info..." So, last Monday we had our first "meeting." Basically, we're just meeting on Monday's after work to weigh in and discuss how we're doing with our weight-loss goals and support each other... etc. We had our second meeting tonight. I was kind of nervous with the weigh-in (especially with Halloween last week... there's been soooooo much candy around!)... but... (wait for it... wait for it...) I LOST 3.6 POUNDS!!!!! I am EXTREMELY proud of myself... hopefully this trend will continue!

On the weight-loss note... I've also decided to start "running." We all know I'm not a runner (look at me!)... but... I'm going to give it a shot. I have a goal of running the Shamrock Shuffle next March downtown Chicago (I think it's an 8K). I have a ways to go, but it's better I start training now rather than a month before and then not be able to do it. So... now that you all know my goal, I guess I have to do it! Right now I'm only able to run a quarter mile and then walk a quarter to a half mile then back to running a quarter mile... etc... I run either 3/4 of a mile or mile. I know it's not much... but it's a start!

Oh yeah... on more thing... I've been to the gym the last 3 days (even got up at 445 this am to be at the gym at 5)... did a 5K each day (with the run/walk thing)... and went BACK to the gym tonight to lift! I ROCK!!!

So that's the update... wish me lots of luck with the loosing weight thing... prayers and support are also appreciated!!!

V

18 October 2007

This weekend

For everyone... tomorrow night a bunch of us are going out to celebrate mine and Jen's birthday's... we're going to dinner at Cheesecake at Hancock and then out... somewhere?!? Maybe Lincoln Park... anywho... y'all are invited... call me if you want to come for details!
V

13 October 2007

updates

I know I haven't posted in a few days... it's been a LONG week at work. I've felt like I've had no idea what's going on... I've been bouncing back and forth between my place and another place to help cover and I'm supposed to be the OT at work right now that knows what's going on... and I feel like I don't.

Last weekend was Nicole (one of my co-workers) and Paul's wedding. It was freakin' HOT! 88F. I think that was the hottest of the 5 weddings I've been to... and it was in October! It was a beautiful wedding... Nicole looked gorgeous!!! The reception was fun... of course, I was one of the last ones there from work... does that surprise anyone?

So... random story (mainly for Bethie)... remember that girl Vanessa that went to Augie? She was on European Term with us and was a COG... ring some bells? Well... she was at the wedding! Small world, eh? I guess she's dating one of Paul's friends... she came up to me at the bar (surprise surprise) and was like "you went to Augie, right?" So we talked a little bit... not too much... it was a bit awkward. We never really talked at Augie... or on European Term. It was weird... funny... but weird. I just had to share that random blast from the past.

Alright... nothing else to post right now... gotta switch back to espn.com to "watch" my Tigers game... they're getting their butts kicked by Oklahoma... so much for our 11th place ranking!

V

07 October 2007

Sunday, September 30 and Monday, October 1

Today was an absolutely GORGEOUS day! After my first few days had been a bit rainy, this weekend has been amazing! Today was about 24C (75F) and super sunny... I even wore my skirt today (while looking super American because I had only brought my dress heels or my boots with heels to go with it... and my feet were still killing me from the night before when I wore my boots out downtown and I thought my feel were going to fall off... gotta break the heels in again!!!... so I had to wear my gym shoes... I know... terrible!!!)

Michael and I went for a walk in the Englischer Garten (English Garden... no "s") which is right in the heart of Munich. HISTORY LESSON ALERT!!! The English Garden was established in the late 1700's by Archduke Carl Theodor, initially designed as a "military garden" to give soldiers a place to study agriculture and a place to enjoy outdoor activities. They opened in 1789, and soon after the Archduke established a public park to the east of the English Garden, called Theodor's Park, which opened in 1792. Eventually, the two parks were combined into one - the English Garden. Just how big is the English Garden? Well... for those that have been to New York City... it's bigger than Central Park. Popular attractions in the park include two large beer gardens, the Chinesischer Turm (designed like a Pagoda), the Japanese Teahouse, the Monopteros, and the "Beautiful Meadow" where on any given day, you're likely to find people (especially old men) sunbathing in the buff. Yes... I saw it... and though I was tempted to take pictures... I held back. ;-)



Some pictures of the English Garden on the way out... I was too busy enjoying the day to take many pictures!!!

That evening, Michael and I walked to Oktoberfest. We rode one of the rollercoasters... and I got my Wienerschnitzel!!!! I was a very happy camper... since I hadn't had any yet in Germany and it's one of my favorite foods! We also went to the Lowenbrau (again, no umlauts) tent for a mass for me and a spezi (my other favorite German drink) for Michael... as well as a huge pretzel! Below is a picture of the Lowenbrau tent that was taken on my phone... I know it's not super clear, but it's all I got! (I'm still waiting on my other pictures that Michael took of me on his phone... when I get those, I'll post them as well!)


This picture below is of a gingerbread heart that is very popular at the fairs in Germany. I only got a small one... the have huge ones that are bigger than a person's body, but those were about 30 euros, and I'm too cheap to purchase one of those at that price! The lady at the stand where I bought it was really cute... she was afraid that I wouldn't be let on the plane with the cookie! She was trying to give Michael all sorts of advice and was telling him that she was worried for me and didn't want me to get arrested or something... but, it was all spoken in German so I didn't get any of it! HAHA!


I might as well mention a bit about Monday... my travel day back home. Michael started his first day of work (and looked rather snappy)... I made it to the airport all on my own taking the U-Bahn and S-Bahn (I know, I rock)... and sat next to a super cute guy. I totally lucked out with that too... I was supposed to sit in a middle seat. As I was right by my seat, the lady I was supposed to sit next to was talking to her husband across the isle stating she was a bit upset because now they wouldn't be able to talk. I offered to switch with the older gentleman so he could have my seat next to his wife and I could have his isle seat... next to the cute German boy. Yes, we talked... totally got along... flirted... all that good stuff... we had to part at customs... he said he really enjoyed meeting me (and I him)... and I didn't do anything (meaning I was stupid and didn't give him my number or email address). Yes, I'm banging my head against a wall for it. So... if anyone knows a guy named Lucas K (yes, I know his last name bud don't think I should post it all over the internet) who's my age, originally from Munich and is now at Stanford University in Palo Alto, CA doing his PhD in computer science... send him my way!!! (And... hopefully that doesn't make me sound too stalker-ish!)

Alright... so... that was my trip!!! And yes, another trip over for next year after Cassandra's wedding is already being planned!!!

Saturday, September 29

On Saturday, Michael and I drove (well, Michael did the driving since his car is a manual) on the A95 down to the Alps. We had planned to go visit the highest mountain in Germany, the Zugspitze, at nearly 3,000 meters (10,000 feet). The drive down was one of the most breathtaking I have ever seen... and the pictures don't do it justice. (I also apologize for the number of pictures on here... I took over 100 this day and had some trouble cutting it down to figure out which ones to post! Oh yeah, as a side note to Bethie... remember going to Kochel am See back in 2000? We drove by it on the way! Ahh... memories!)


Isn't is crazy how the mountains almost look like they are painted in in the background? What wonders are on this earth!



The mountain ahead is the one we would be going to the top of!


Some typical Bavarian-style homes in the tourist town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. As a side note (because I feel the need to educate the readers of my blog with history lessons), the towns of Garmisch and Partenkirchen were joined by Adolf Hitler in 1935 for the 1936 Winter Olympic Games. The area is generally very busy in both the summer and the winter: in summer for the hiking and in winter for skiing and snowboarding.


On the way to the top of the Zugspitze!


The Eibsee at the base of the Zugspitze.


The snowline!!! Yes... it was very cold up top the mountain. Let me put it in perspective... it was actually a BEAUTIFUL day in Germany.... 22C (about 71F)... at at the top it was -4C (about 23F!!!) So snowballs were made at the top!

The following pictures are of me and/or Michael at the top of the mountain. In the background you can see beautiful panoramic views of the Alps, all the way into Austria.






Behind Michael is the actual peak of the Zugspitze (where the pole with the cross is located). In the warmer summer months, one can climb up to the top.



The weather center, warming building, and restaurant at the top of the Zugspitze where one enters from the cable car or the train (the only ways in the winter months to make it to the top!)


The Zugspitze glacier, 300 meters below the summit, where one can also go skiing during the winter months. If you enlarge the picture above, you can see some of the gates for skiing.



The longer we were at the top, the more the clouds were rolling in. By the end of our time on the top of the Zugspitze, we were nearly in the middle of the cloud!


Michael and I on our way back down in a VERY crowded cable car.

Again, pictures cannot capture the true beauty of this day. I was just in amazement of the awesomeness all around us. I wonder if I'd think that way if I saw those beautiful sights every day, or if it would become "just another mountain" to me... nah!

Quick note of the rest of the evening... Michael and I went down to Marienplatz for dinner... we were looking for some Wienerschnitzel (yummy!!!)... but the only place we found was ridiculously expensive (18.00 Euros... about $26.00)... so we went to the Irish/Australian (I know, random combination) bar and got some burgers... yes... I had a burger while in Germany. But that's okay... because tomorrow is, once again, Oktoberfest!!!

05 October 2007

Friday, September 27

On Friday, Michael and I drove on the autobahn to Ulm (about 90 km from Munich) to turn in his thesis and to visit the city he has spent the last few years. Ulm is a gorgeous smaller city that has played a bigger role in history than most of us Americans realize. For example... did you know that Ulm, Germany was the birthplace of one of the greatest minds in history... Albert Einstein? Yeah... me neither. Ulm's history is reach with great minds, beautiful pieces of architecture, and bitter em battlements between countries. Ulm was almost entirely destroyed in 1944 during World War II and a vast majority of the city has since been rebuilt. Surprisingly, many of their most famous structures were not destroyed during the war, thanks to a large effort by the townspeople.


This is a picture of the steeple of the Ulmer Munster (sorry, I don't have those umlauts on this computer to put over the "u" in Munster!). Built in 1377, It is the largest church spire in the world at 161.53 meters (nearly 530 ft) high. Interestingly, the church and the spire were financed entirely by the city inhabitants without a penny coming from the church, which was unheard of in those days. During WW2, the Ulmer Munster was one of the landmarks the townspeople strove to save, and it was not damaged during the war, though nearly all buildings surrounding it were completely destroyed.


This is a picture of the Rathaus (Town Hall) taken from the Ulm Marktplatz (the city marketplace) with the Ulmer Munster in the background. The Rathaus was built in 1370, though no longer serves as the town hall for the city of Ulm.


A close-up of the murals painted on the Rathaus, done in the mid-16th century.


An astronomical clock on the entrance side of the Rathaus dates from 1520 and is still in working condition.


One of the things that I find so crazy about Europe is how they blend architecture. Nearly next door to the Rathaus you find the Stadtbibliothek (city library) in the shape of a glass pyramid... a very modern design blending in the skyline with architecture from the 1300's.


The Danube River (taken from the car). The river splits the city of Ulm nearly in half, as well as splits two southern counties/provinces... Bavaria (to the west) and Baden-Wurttenberg (to the east). The city of Ulm sits on the Baden-Wurttenberg side and holds the majority of old architecture. The city of Neu-Ulm sits on the Bavarian side of the river and is comprised of mainly newer buildings (which are not quite as appealing as the old side!).

So, I couldn't go through this whole post with it only being a history lesson. After a full day of sightseeing in Ulm, Michael and I drove back on the A8 to Munich. Being a boy, he's always hungry... and seems to always have a taste for American fast food. So... we (well, he) decided to get off on one of the exits to find either a Burger King or McDonalds. There was a back up at the exit and people were driving around something in the grass... what was it???


Ahh... yes... a jack-knifed trailer... they have those in Germany too!


As well as the police (poliezi) standing around looking at the trailer instead of doing something about it!

We made it to the Burger King and decided to go through the drive thru... or as they call it...

The Burger King Drive In!!! (Do we get to watch a movie too?)


Sitting in the parking lot while Micheal was eating his 2 burgers (and I drank a "Coca-Cola Light") I saw some men in uniform... that's right... the US Airforce!!! Just having returned from Oktoberfest themselves. So... I had to get a pic... they were nice about it... and I, of course, looked like a crazy American.

After our drama at the exit, we headed back home...

Only going 170 km/h (about 110 mph)... we'd go 200 km/h (125 mph) later that weekend!

It was a long day... we actually ended up spending the rest of the night in and going to bed early... because we were getting up early in the morning to go to.... the Alps!!!!

02 October 2007

Thursday, September 27

Thursday in Munich was a pretty chill day. Michael had to finish working on his thesis... he got up around 7 or 8 to work until noon... while I just rested from the long day before. We took his thesis to the print shop (which, by the way, cost him 131 Euros... about $186!!!) to print up 4 copies (each around 200 pages... can you imagine writing a 200 page thesis?!?)... then wandered around Marienplatz (St. Mary's Square) for a while to do some shopping.


An ariel view of Marienplatz and the new town hall.


A view of the square and of the Mariensaule at Marienplatz.


A view of the other side of the square with the old Town Hall in the background.


A close up of the new Town Hall where, yes, the Glockenspiel is.

The Glockenspiel is located on front of the Rathaus (Town Hall). At 11am, 12pm, and 5pm each day the Glockenspiel chimes and the statues on front begin to rotate. The statues each tell a story of Munich's past... one is depicting the Schafflertanz (the "Coopers Dance") in memory of the end of the plague in 1517... the other depicts a tournament that was held for Duke Wilhelm V's wedding which took place on the Marienplatz in 1568.


And... for those of us American's who have been there, I couldn't forget a picture of the Hofbrauhaus (since it's located super close to Marienplatz). Also, bit of real history about the Hofbrauhaus... it was established in 1589 by Duke Wilhelm V (yes, the same guy as above) because he and his family did not like the beer that was being brewed in Munich at the time. And we all thought it was just a fun place for Americans and Italians to drink...


Thrusday night Michael and I went to Oktoberfest in Theresienwiese (named after Therese von Sachsen-Hildburghausen). You know, one of the crazy parts about Oktoberfest is that people think that it is just a beer drinking festival... but did you know they also have carnival rides? Yes... everything from the bumper cars to the ferris wheel to the Spinner to the upside-down rollercoasters (there are 3 of those). Michael and I went on a ride called the Skater... it was crazy... spun you all over the place, up and down and around... I was super dizzy when we got off... and my shoulders and hands hurt from hanging on for dear life (I thought I was going to fall out when we went upside down)... but it was a blast! We hung out outside the Hacker-Pschorr tent... it was crazy inside (and we had tried the Paulaner tent before that which was PACKED)... and it was a nice night to sit outside, have a drink, and talk. There were some crazy Germans near us singing German drinking songs... I joined in a bit with the parts I knew. They were also singing a song called "Viva Kolnia" (meaning long live Cologne... another city in Germany)... which was a bit weird considering Oktoberfest is in Munchen! I did get a dirty look from one of the girls when she found out I was an American... the first dirty look I've ever gotten from a German! The other guys at that table were call cool though... haha!

After "die Wisen" (what the Bavarians call Oktoberfest because of its location), Michael and I took the U-Bahn back home around midnight... we had to get up early in the morning to drive to Ulm!

V

As a disclaimer... I did not bring my camera with me this day... as much as I love to take pictures, I'm also afraid of getting my camera stolen or broken... all pictures on this page were taken from www.aviewoncities.com/munich.htm Feel free to visit the site for more beautiful pictures! (I'm sure I'll be using them again in some of my other posts when I didn't bring my camera!) Also... I'll post a few pictures from Oktoberfest on another post... I'm waiting for Michael to send me a few he took with his camera phone!

01 October 2007

Safe and Sound

Just wanted to let you all know I made it home safely. I'll blog about my trip tomorrow or the next day... I'm tired. My body thinks it's nearly 4am (ugh)... which it is since I've been up since 7am Munich time (or midnight to everyone here)... so... midnight to 9pm... not fun. And... I have to work in the morning. I think my bed is calling my name...
Stories and pics to come....
V

27 September 2007

I made it!

Yes, I arrived here safelz in Munich. No problems getting out of O'Hare or Philidelphia... the weather cooperated and was perfect! I had a longer layover in Philly than I thought (it ended up being 3.5 hrs instead of 2.5 hrs) because I apparently don't know how to calculate time. Michael was there to pick me up at the airport and we spent a while looking for his car... since he parked about as far away as one can get! But it was good because it gave us more time to talk and catch up a bit.
I walked around Marienplatz for a while on Wednesday since Michael needed to work on his thesis a bit more. Unfortunately, it was raining, so I wasn't able to sit outside at one of the beer gardens and people watch, but I still had fun. I met some random professor (who grew up in the states) while I was waiting for the subway... one of his students came up to me and asked me to take a survey... in German... which, of course, I don't really speak a lick of. So, I told him I don't speak German... and he apparently went back and told his professor... and I ended up taking the survey in English. It was a good conversation... he is a theology professor so the survey was about ones beliefs of Christianity... and got me thinking. After the survey, we just talked about Christianity for a while... not the typical conversation I'd expect to have in the U-Bahn station in Munich, but it was still good!
I was kind of jet lagged on Wednesday, so we didn't do too much. Oh yeah... so far I've only had pizza, bread, and hot dogs to eat... hahahah!!!
I'll share more later when I get time. I won't be able to upload any photos until I get back home in the states... so you will all have to wait for that!

V

Disclaimer: This was written on a German laptop (whose keyboard is different from that in the states)... so bare with me if there are any typos (since it's telling me that just about every word is a typo since the language is set as German!).

25 September 2007

Flying out

Just wanted to ask for a quick prayer from everyone that my flight gets out of O'Hare today... and semi-on-time... it's supposed to storm today and we all know how airport delays (especially at ORD) can be! I need a vacation!!!

21 September 2007

What a great day!

Okay... big news of the day... I'm going to Germany for Oktoberfest!!! Yes... this year!!! It was a total last minute thing... my friend Michael (who happens to live in Munich) invited me. I texted him on Thursday because we hadn't talked in a little over a month and I knew he was moving to Munich and finishing work on his thesis. He texted me back and said all was going well and that he really likes Munich... and then said that I should come over for Oktoberfest. I thought that it was already going on (as it usually is earlier in September) and he said it was the 22nd through October 7th... and that he would call me Thursday night. So... that got the wheels a turnin' in my head... he called last night, we talked for a while... and he convinced me that I should try and come over for about a week... but I still had to ask off from work. (We have that whole 2 week rule for requests off, too.) I asked my boss this morning... who said it sounded like a great opportunity... but she had to check to see if we had coverage and she'd get back to me ASAP... but it comes to be 330 in the afternoon and I still hadn't heard ANYTHING so I was way nervous thinking that she wasn't going to let me take off. Finally... I asked her again if she had made up her mind and she said "oh, I thought I had told you, go go go, we have coverage." I was so excited I screamed and told her I loved her and gave her a huge hug... she said I could go as long as I brought her back something. Haha! So... I rushed home after work... got my tickets... will be gone September 25th to October 1st... I know it's not a super long time, but I have to be back at work because another girl is taking off for her wedding (which is slight more important I think)... but I way excited to head overseas again! Everyone pray for me that I make it there okay... and that my luggage makes it there too (unlike last time)!

15 September 2007

Updates...

So, it's been a while since I've last posted anything... alright... nearly a month! I've been busy! Kind of... the month of bachelorette parties and weddings continued... only one more left! Congratulations to Jackie and Scott who were married on September 1st... it was a beautiful wedding!
On the 18th of August (I know, a while ago) some friends from work and I went sailing... here are the pics!


Nicole and myself posing and ready for the sail!


Travis looking dasher in his cowboy hat? All he needs is a piece of hay in his mouth...





Tammy and Nicole were supposed to be the ones to push us away from the dock... they had a few problems and needed some help! I thought the girls had the guns!


Some of the guys just chilling at the bow of the boat.


A view of the city from the lake... yes, the day is a bit dreary (and it was pretty chilly... and then rainy!) You can see the rainclouds approaching.



Tammy and Nicole enjoying a drink




Above are pics of the air show that was going on during our sail... though we were headed back to port since some people were getting a bit "green!"



Kasia sailing the boat!


Brian, Travis, and Andy trying to get the mainsail up... it didn't work.

It was kind of a dreary day... the water was rough... it was windy (but not always from the same direction)... and then it started to rain. Not everyone that was with us had sea legs... so we were only out on the lake for about an hour (it was supposed to be a three hour tour!) We still had a good time... the boat company let us chill on the boat when we got back into port. It was a good thing we came in when we did... it started pouring not long afterwards!
Kasia, Andy, Brian, and I will hopefully get to go out one more time this fall... so we can get the mainsail up and not just the jib and really haul on the lake!